An election was held on June 15, 1965 in Lexington County to determine whether or not a water district should be created to construct, operate, and maintain a water system in the Gilbert-Summit area.  The standing of the el

ection was as follows: 223 electors voted in favor of and 29 voted against. The question was approved and the Gilbert-Summit Rural Water District was formed.


The Water District is governed by a board of five directors, appointed by  the Governor of South Carolina for staggered periods of six years.


The district started with about 200 customers and has steadily grown, now serving over 3,050 customers in the western part of Lexington county. The service area incorporates the towns of Gilbert and Summit, stretching from I-20 in the south to Lake Murray in the north - about 77 square miles.


The district currently has eight wells as source water. They are located at a specific depth within the Middendorf Aquifer - an aquifer which lies in the Coastal Plain of our state. This water is treated with Soda Ash to adjust pH, Chlorine to disinfect, and Polyphosphate to line the pipes to help control lead and copper leaching problems which can occur in older residential plumbing.